Josh Kerr, Nikki Hiltz And The Return Of Elle Purrier-St. Pierre Headline 5th Ave Mile

By Chris Chavez

September 7, 2023

Some of the world’s best middle-distance runners descend upon New York City to close out their 2023 campaign with the 5th Avenue Mile.

Here’s what you need to know:

– Last year’s race was a Scottish sweep with victories by 2022 1500m world champion Jake Wightman (3:49.6) and 2022 1500m world championship bronze medalist Laura Muir (4:14.8 – course record). Neither will return to defend their title. Wightman is working his way back from injury, which caused him to miss this summer’s world championships. Muir may opt for the Diamond League final in Eugene on Sept. 16-17.

– This year’s fields are headlined by 1500m world champion Josh Kerr, who is looking to keep the British winning streak alive for a third consecutive year, and U.S. mile record holder and 1500m U.S. champion Nikki Hiltz, who ran 4:16.35 at the Monaco Diamond League on July 21.

– Elle Purrier St. Pierre, the U.S. indoor mile record holder with a 4:16.85 PB, will race for the first time since the 2022 World Championships. She gave birth to her son, Ivan, in March but has returned to training with Team New Balance Boston ahead of this weekend’s race.

She wrote on Instagram: “Last week I worked out on the pavement to get ready for YUP…the 5th Avenue mile. I am so excited to be lining back up for my first race since the baby! See you all on Sunday in NYC.”

– Watch for the On Athletics Club Europe’s George Mills. He just ran 3:49.64 at a small meet in Germany on Wednesday evening. He missed the world championships but has been racing well within the past month including a 3:30.95 personal best for 1500m at the Zurich Diamond League. His mile performance moved him to No. 7 on the British all-time outdoor mile list.

– Here is the full field for the men’s professional race: Morgan Beadlescomb, Geordie Beamish, Vincent Ciattei, Elliot Giles, Johnny Gregorek, Azeddine Habz, Olin Hacker, Eric Holt, Drew Hunter, Amon Kemboi, Josh Kerr, Woody Kincaid, Kasey Knevelbaard, George Mills, Charles Philibert-Thiboutot, Sam Prakel, Thomas Ratcliffe, Erik Sowinski, Cooper Teare, James West and Henry Wynne.

– Here is the full field for the women’s professional race: Melissa Courtney-Bryant, Kaela Edwards, Susan Ejore, Courtney Frerichs, Laura Galvan, Sarah Healy, Nikki Hiltz, Vera Hoffmann, Jessica Hull, Dani Jones, Emily MacKay, Jemma Reekie, Gaia Sabbatini, Helen Schlachtenhaufen, Katie Snowden, Elinor St. Pierre, Nozomi Tanaka, Adelle Tracey, Carina Viljoen and Regan Yee.

How to watch: NBC will broadcast the men’s and women’s professional races from 12 p.m. to 1 p.m. ET.

Chris Chavez

Chris Chavez launched CITIUS MAG in 2016 as a passion project while working full-time for Sports Illustrated. He covered the 2016 Olympics in Rio de Janeiro and grew his humble blog into a multi-pronged media company. He completed all six World Marathon Majors and is an aspiring sub-five-minute miler.