Cooper Teare Leaves Bowerman Track Club

By Chris Chavez

October 28, 2023

Cooper Teare has announced he will be leaving the Nike Bowerman Track Club after just one full year working with coach Jerry Schumacher.

Here’s what you need to know:

– Teare, the 2021 NCAA 5000m champion and 2022 U.S. 1500m champion, has decided to leave BTC after just one full season with the team. Teare joined the team in August 2022.

– He wrote on Instagram: "After much consideration and reflection on the past year, I’ve made the decision to leave Bowerman Track Club. I’m incredibly thankful for the experiences I had with the people who made them possible, but moving forward I feel it’s in my best interest to go another direction. Thank you everyone for the support.”

– This year, Teare ran a 1500m personal best of 3:32.74 at the LA Grand Prix in May. However, he struggled at the U.S. Championships and failed to make it out of the first round of the 1500m and then took fifth in the 5000m final.

– Teare’s 2022 season resulted in personal bests in the 800m, 1500m, mile, 3000m and 5000m. He won his first U.S. senior title and then competed in just one round of the 1500m at the World Championships due to a stress fracture in his tibia.

The Bowerman Track Club Exodus

The Bowerman Track Club has seen a wave of departures in the past three years.

Colleen Quigley left the team and then signed a pro contract with Lululemon. (May 2021)

Marielle Hall moved to the East Coast to work under coach Kurt Benninger. (Sept. 2021)

Sinclaire Johnson didn’t see a good fit and joined the Union Athletics Club with Pete Julian. (Sept. 2021)

Emily Infeld and Kate Grace left and then joined Team Boss to be coached by Joe Bosshard. (Jan. 2022)

Vanessa Fraser moved to San Francisco for a job but continued to work with Shalane Flanagan. (Aug. 2022)

Gabriela DeBues-Stafford and her sister Lucia Stafford parted ways with the team after Shelby Houlihan’s positive test and suspension for nandrolone. (April 2022)

– 2016 Olympic 1500m champion Matthew Centrowitz was with the team from 2019 through 2021.

– After Schumacher accepted the Oregon head coach job and decided to move the team from Portland to Eugene, Woody Kincaid (now coached by Mike Smith) Marc Scott (NN Running Team) and Amos Bartelsmeyer (Union Athletics Club) chose to go separate ways.

Who is left on the team?

– Christina Aragon, Moh Ahmed, Elise Cranny, Courtney Frerichs, Evan Jager, Sean McGorty, Thomas Ratcliffe, Karissa Schweizer, Andrea Seccafien, Josh Thompson, and Kieran Tuntivate were all on the roster in 2023.

– This summer, the team announced 2022 NCAA cross country champion Charles Hicks and Canadian Olympian Justyn Knight were joining the roster heading into the 2024 Olympic year.

Chris Chavez

Chris Chavez launched CITIUS MAG in 2016 as a passion project while working full-time for Sports Illustrated. He covered the 2016 Olympics in Rio de Janeiro and grew his humble blog into a multi-pronged media company. He completed all six World Marathon Majors and is an aspiring sub-five-minute miler.